I was chopping on a Twix last night when it occurred to me that most of the chocolate that's found in today's industry's either has milk or cream or some type of dairy products in it. So do you vegans eat candy..or is their a tofu alternative.
Don't be silly about a tofu alternative. I think that you overestimate the role that tofu plays in a non-meat diet. In seven years of vegetarianism, i have consumed tofu on probably less than ten occasions.
Most mconfectioners will generally shy away from using gelatin in their products, as this will be a turn off for many vegetarian customers. Gelatin is pretty much the most blatantly obvious animal product that isn't meat for msot people. Everyone knows that gelatin isn't a vegetarian product, and so many manufacturers will shy away from using it, if it's quite easy to.
As for chocolate, dark chocolate is often vegan. It really depends on the quality. If you're talking about cadbury's bournville, forget about it, that's rubbish chocolate - Green and blacks, lindt, or some company which knows what chocolate should be like is the best bet for a vegan looking for chocolate.
Most hard boiled sweets are vegetarian already, and often vegan. Chocolate is usually vegetarian, and seldom vegan. Mint chocolates are often vegan, as one should never mix milk and mint together. However, green and blacks mint chocolate throws honey in the mix, making it not vegan. Softer sweets are usually gelatin based, and aren't vegetarian.